Quick Read

So the other day I found myself wandering around my university’s bookstore. I didn’t really find anything that I wanted enough to fork over money for it, so I just wrote down the title of anything I thought looked interesting. I thought that I’d check them out of the library later and see if they were any good.

One of the books that I looked at was a cheap gritty fantasy paperback. I had glanced through a few pages and it looked relatively interesting, if not particularly original. I found out later it was from a long series of books with the same characters.

Well, I was still thinking of the book after I got out of class later that day. So I wandered back into the bookstore to take another look at it. One thing lead to another after that, and at some point I made the transition from casually perusing it to sitting in a corner and devouring it.

I took me five hours, five straight hours, to read through the whole thing. Cover to cover. No breaks. It was 300 pages, so I guess I must have been doing a page a minute.

I kind of lost myself in that book. At the end of it, I was sore from sitting in the same spot and upset that I had lost so much time when I was supposed to be studying. But I was also really pleased. Since I came to college, I have had the tendency to read only parts of a book before moving on. Or, even worse, avoiding books entirely and getting my fill of reading from online sources (blogs, fanfiction, news sites, etc). It felt really nice to just mow through a book like that. It reminds me of when I was in elementary school and junior high and I had enough free time to go through a couple of books a week.

I really do need to get into the habit of reading more.

P.S. – Speaking of books, I’m writing this just before the LA Times Festival of Books. I’m very excited to go. :)

Leave a Reply

