I Have a Job!

So, you may have gathered this from the About Me page, but I have actually graduated and have now moved on to the exciting life of full-time employment.

I only started a month or so ago, so it’s still relatively new to me, even though I had interned for this company previously. Part of the culture shock is just getting used to the 8-to-5 days. I’m so used to college, where I found myself asking people “Wait, do you mean am or pm?”. Now, I have to be in bed by 10 pm (or, more likely, by midnight) or else I end up coming into work late, which would mean that I have to stay late.

That sounds bad, like I’m neglecting my work. And, yes, it sort of is. But my hours are pretty flexible, and as long as I put in at least 40 a week, then it doesn’t matter as much when they are. That being said, I want to make a good impression by showing up early and getting done as much work as possible. What gets complicated, however, is when my supervisor is staying at the office late and I end up helping him until 8 pm.

I think the latest I’ve stayed was 9 pm. Then again, I’ve managed to sneak in at 11 am without anyone caring that much. It’s a weird balance of being flexible and being reliable. Sometimes, I’m there before my supervisor so that I can help people and answer questions before he gets there. I’ve come to enjoy that, because it makes me feel like I’m knowledgeable and contributing. And while those times are getting more common, they’re still rare enough that I treasure them.

You’ll hear more about my job in later posts, I’m sure. But for now I just wanted to let you know that I am, in fact, a practicing and employed engineer.

Best wishes on the upcoming work week.

Leave a Reply

