Why this isn’t a Personal Finance Blog

If you’ve looked at the blogs that I link to, you’ll notice most of them have to do with personal finance.

I’m a big fan of personal finance blogs. I find them fascinating, a mix of sociology, psychology, and enough number crunching for me itch for an Excel sheet. In my spare time, I read a lot of books on financial advice, investing strategy, sociological studies of consumers,  and personal finance success stories.

That said, my blog is not (primarily) focused on personal finance.

As much as I would love to talk about money and numbers all day, there are a bunch of reasons why I don’t:

1) PF blogs are about having a unique personal experience or perspective. People who have dealt with (or still struggling with) debt or compulsive shopping. Someone who can live on less than $20k a year and think others can follow their example. A person who knows where to find great deals that others could benefit from. Stories like those. In contrast, my PF history is pretty boring. Really. It’s dull and comparatively privileged and full of mediocre spending/saving habits. I will eventually make a post about it, but for right now I’ll leave it at that.

2) At the moment, I have other areas of my life that I’m trying to grow in. Even though I’m still reading PF books, I spend more of my time working on other things, like cooking or writing or what have you. As it stands, I’m going through a major financial turning point at the moment (a net worth inflection point, if you will) and I’m waiting for the chaos of that to even out before I focus on optimizing my habits. Plus, I’m more concerned with learning how to do my job well, because that’s an important investment that’s going to pay off well later.

3) I lack goals, or a major ambition, to direct and drive my PF plans. At this point, I’m a little too mobile (and I’m in such an expensive city, and my credit history is still young, and . . .), that saving for a down payment of a house doesn’t make that much sense. While I would love to retire early, it seems ridiculous to me to think about that when I haven’t even been in the workforce for a year, yet. Saving for expensive vacations is easy, since I travel with my family and only have to pay for my airfare to the location. My car is already brand new, so I’m good on that score as well. There is nothing in the near future that I can use as sufficient motivation to put in the extra effort of budgeting and investing so that I can squeeze an extra $200ish a month out of my lifestyle. Eventually, in a year or so maybe, I’ll get around to getting that Mint.com account and throwing some money into an index fund or a IRA. But not right now.

Question: Other than debt or early retirement, what really could motive a youngish person to go frugal and super PF crusader? Saving up to start a business maybe? You tell me.

Leave a Reply

