Intro to NaNoWriMo

So, it’s almost November. This means a couple of things:

1) Halloween! (Fun night with friends, costume planning, cheap candy the day after, etc)

2) Comikaze – a convention in LA around comic books, anime, horror, etc (Reusing my Halloween costume, crazy weekend, buying a new set of dice and a bunch of $0.50 comic books)

These are fun things definitely. Interesting bits of amusement. But, in the large scheme of things, they are fleeting and inconsequential.

You see, November is National Novel Writing Month.

This is an event put on every year by a nonprofit group that encourages people (average, everyday, anyone kind of people) to prove to themselves that they are capable of great things. Namely: Complete a novel of more than 50,000 words within 30 days. This is roughly 1,667 words a day, which is about 5 pages in Microsoft Word with the way I usually write. The event is scary and stressful. It is a time of community (through forums and coffee shop meetings) and great creativity. I highly encourage everyone to at least try it once. I’m probably not selling it the best, so please check out the website and learn more: www.nanowrimo.org

This is going to be my 7th year attempting NaNo. I know, that number sounds scary large to me too. But my first try was in high school, so I guess that makes sense. Now, that may make it sound like I have “experience”. And I do, a bit. But I’ve only won NaNo (i.e. made it to 50,000 words) once, during my Senior year of high school. My attempts during college were . . . well, let’s say I didn’t get anywhere fast.

But this year I’m determined, and I’m going to need all the motivation I can get. I’ll post more on this later, probably, but I want to state now that I’m encouraging all the bugging/pestering/shaming I can get in order to push me to write. I’ll see if I can get a word-count widget fixed into the blog, so you can point out exactly how far behind I am.

Also, sorry about last week’s lack of post. I’m still trying to get into the flow of this.

-basetwelve

Leave a Reply

